Origins Gloomaway Grapefruit Body Souffle

13 Jun

This “souffle” would best be compared to another another food —  it’s so thick that if you wrapped it in a waxy rind, I’d believe it were a triple-cream Brie. I happen to be a pretty big fan of Brie, so don’t assume that this is a bad thing.

What does bother me a little is that it’s a bit greasy. (Hello, it’s the consistency of artery-clogging cheese.) For those reasons, I often use this product before going to sleep, which is convenient because a good slathering will last a 5 to 10 hours, depending on your skin’s previous dehydration level. Let me tell you, after a few nights of using this, you won’t be feeling dry any longer.

The other downside is that the grapefruit scent is a bit strong if you’re moisturizing your entire body. I prefer lotions not to interfere with perfumes, but this might be a good choice for you if you’re not someone who wears fragrance. This quality contributes to my tendency to use this product overnight. Occasionally, however, I use it is in the summer. Its resistance to immediately absorb into skin means that arms and legs can enjoy a light, summery glow.

Due to the fact that it’s not perfect for everyday use, I’ll probably be hesitant to spend $28 on this moisturizer in the future. However, I know a few grapefruit enthusiasts who might appreciate the accuracy of the scent.

What do you think?

