Jergens Original Scent Dry Skin Moisturizer

21 Jun

When I was little, my mom used to keep this lotion in a decorative bottle in her bathroom. I would love being allowed a few squirts of the delicious-smelling cherry-almond moisturizer. For whatever reason, it seems as though a disproportionately large amount of people connect this lotion to their childhood. I’ve heard many a friend exclaim, “Oh, my mom used to use this!” or, “I loved this scent as a kid!”

I guess these warm feelings are to be expected from a moisturizer company that has been in business since 1901. The other thing that can be expected is a solid product. These moisturizers are known to be great for people who have sensitive skin, which is one of the reasons my mom always kept it handy.

The other reason my mom had this around is because it’s a good, refreshing lotion. This is a solid after-shower moisturizer. If you’re looking to get rid of alligator legs, grab a few glasses of water and some shea butter, but for most other purposes, this lotion will suffice. Another upside? You can get a huge bottle like this for $6 to $8, depending on the retailer.

The lower portion of the bottle says,  “comforts and nourishes,” which is the perfect descriptor for this moisturizer. No, it’s not the world’s best moisturizer, and I’m not crazy about the amount of alcohol it contains, but it gets the job done, and its smell remains comforting year after year. That’s a win in my book.

2 Responses to “Jergens Original Scent Dry Skin Moisturizer”

  1. Suzanne June 22, 2011 at 9:33 pm #

    It reminds me of my Mom too. It’s now a three generation favorite product just because of the smell. I don’t use it anymore because of the ingredients, but whenever I smell anything like it, I want to try it. I wish Jergens could come out with an organic product with the same scent. Love your blogs!

    • prodtista September 9, 2011 at 2:39 pm #

      Thanks for reading! It’s funny how many people connect this scent to their families. I’m with you on the ingredients. I’d snatch up an organic one in a heartbeat.

What do you think?

