Sarah Jessica Parker Lovely

23 Jun

SJP’s first fragrance, Lovely, was inspired by the creator’s penchant for layering fragrances, which is one of my favorite things to do with this scent. When doing research for this post today, I discovered that SJP had layering in mind when she created this scent, which came as a surprise to me because I’ve been layering this fragrance with others for years. She’s just that good.

The top notes are bergamot, lavender and apple martini. The middle are pachouli, paper whites and creamy orchid, and the bottom are cedar wood, white amber, sultry woods and musk. All of this amounts to a scent that’s, well, lovely.

It’s not sexy, and it’s not overly sweet or assertive in its presence. Given Parker’s brains and taste, no one should be surprised by the qualities she endowed upon this fragrance. These attributes are also what makes this fragrance ideal for layering. (One of my favorites to blend this with is the original Juicy Couture Fragrance.) Because it mixes well with a remarkable array of other fragrances, I wear it more often than I would one that doesn’t play well with others.

Maybe it’s just me, but this bottle seems huge, especially next to my tiny bottles of Chanel that I probably paid as much for and use half as often. I’ve had my bottle of Lovely for a number of years despite wearing it on a semi-regular basis. (Don’t worry. I’ve kept it cool and in the dark. It still smells great.) I got mine as part of a collection, but this size (3.4 oz) retails for $68. Not bad for a fragrance that you can use to create a multitude of new ones, but what else would we expect from someone as lovely as SJP?

What do you think?

