Three products I wish weren’t discontinued

12 Jul

It happens to all of us. We fall in love with a product, then poof! It’s gone. If you’re lucky, you can figure out when something’s going to be discontinued and stock up on it. These are three things that I wish were still around.

Healthy Sexy Hair Pumpkin Shampoo and Healthy Sexy Hair Pumpkin Conditioner

When I saw this at a deep discount at a few stores, I drove around to all the discounters in the area and bought as much stock as I get my hands on.

This smells amazing. Ahhhmazing. And now it’s gone. The shampoo was thick and pearlescent and worked into a perfect lather. The conditioner was even thicker and made my ends nice and smooth. The folks at Sexy Hair replaced this line with Soy Milk, which doesn’t  really smell and took most of the desirability out of the product. I’m sure it still works as well, but it doesn’t smell like amazing pumpkin pie, so I’m out. I’ll have to slowly ration my remaining supply to myself.

H20+ Almond Body Scrub

This also smells terrific. This is one of those brands that appears at discount stores a lot, so I wasn’t concerned about it being discontinued, which turned out to be a mistake. However, I did buy four of five of these last time I saw them because I’m obsessive like that.

I’m a sucker for anything that smells like sweet almond, and the consistency of this scrub is delightful. The little beads feel natural and provide a delightful amount of exfoliation. This and Philosophy are the only shower washes that I’ll use, so It’s disappointing that this is gone. They still have this scent in other products, but I haven’t tried any of them. I might have to when my supply runs out.

Caswell-Massey Refreshing Verbena Foot Spa

This foot cream is definitely refreshing. I picked it up because it’s a good brand and verbena is usually fresh and difficult for manufacturers to mess up. It almost always smells good.

Caswell-Massey doesn’t disappoint. It’s perfectly thick, and using it at night helps my feet recuperate from days spent in sky-high shoes. If I have a rough patch, this stuff can soften it in one night. One night. I’m not sure what I’ll use to replace this, but I’m welcoming any and all suggestions.

It seems like basic advice, but if you start seeing a product you like in high quantities at TJ Maxx and other discounters, give the manufacturer a call and see whether they’re discontinuing the product. If so, stock up and keep your supply in a cool, dry place to maximize its shelf life.

What do you think?

