Healthy Sexy Hair Soy Milk Shampoo

15 Jul

Earlier this week I lamented the discontinuation of one of the most delicious smelling shampoos I’ve ever used: Healthy Sexy Hair Pumpkin Shampoo. Soy Milk is the shampoo that Sexy Hair now sells as a part of its Healthy line. It’s no Pumpkin.

It works the same as the pumpkin shampoo did: It’s thick, pearlescent and works to a yummy lather. It smells odd, though. It doesn’t smell like soy milk. In fact, it smells a bit minty, which isn’t something I was expecting.

I bought this shampoo because soy milk in a shampoo sounds comforting and hydrating. It’s a hydrating enough shampoo. If I use it and skip the conditioner, it won’t look like I licked a fork and stuck it in the toaster, which is an accomplishment for a shampoo on its own. It’s also safe for color-treated hair, which It’s cost-efficient, too: about $10 a bottle.

I can’t get over the smell, though. It’s smells like the absence of pumpkin and the odd inexplicable presence of mint. Sigh. Yes, I know this has nothing to do with the shampoo. I’m sorry; I really loved the pumpkin. This line also comes in chocolate soy milk, but I can’t imagine washing my hair with something that smells like chocolate. Then again, I didn’t expect to get hooked on a pumpkin-scented shampoo.

What do you think?

