Xen-Tan Deep Bronze Luxe

23 Jul

Today’s post is from the woman most responsible for my product obsession: My mother. Whether or not she wants to admit it, she’s a productista, so I thought it fitting that she share her favorite self-tanner with you. –z

To tan, or not to tan. Some of us have no choice if we are very fair skinned. That’s when we reach for the self-tanner with often scary results: bad smells, colors not seen in nature and the dreaded streakiness.

Until two years ago, I had tried many self-tanners and all were disappointing. Then, the helpful people at Norstrom introduced me to Xen-Tan. What first drew me to the product was what was not in it’s formula: parabens. The second was the scent. It is a pleasant vanilla-y, but somewhat strong smell.

 

But, would it work? My first few attempts were rather successful because I was being very careful. The color was not too dark and looked natural. Then I became a little less careful, and I got the dreaded streakiness. Because I’m often in a bit of a hurry when applying this product, I began spraying one body part at a time with La Roche-Posay Thermal Spring Water before applying Xen-Tan. Voila! No streaks, easier to apply, and it dilutes the strong scent.

This formula claims to be a weekly self-tan but is more like a twice-weekly self-tan for me. A generous 8 ounce tube lasts me all summer, and at $39, that’s a bargain. –c

(I’ve used Xen Tan a few times, and I agree with my mother’s assessment. The smell is sweet enough to give me a headache, so I think using it in conjunction with something is necessary. I hope you’ve all enjoyed self-tanner week. –z)

What do you think?

