Aveda Pure Comfort Eye Makeup Remover

16 Aug

Even the most careful productistas will at some point get makeup remover in their eyes. When that happens, you want to be using a makeup remover that doesn’t sting your eyes. This is not that remover.

First, it smells slightly sudsy, which is a giveaway: This stiff will suds up with the slightest amount of friction. I don’t want foam anywhere near my eyes. If this gets in your eyes, you will feel it, and you will not like it.

The other downside is that I had to soak two cotton pads to shed all my makeup with this remover, which is one more than I have to use with Lancôme Bi-Facil. It’s also one less than I’ve had to use with other makeup removers, so this product seems pretty average to me.

The upside to this is that if you can keep it out of your eyes, it’s rather soothing, which is where the Pure Comfort name comes from. Chamomile and cucumber are what give it this quality. That said, this is no more comforting than other makeup removers I’ve used. It’s Aveda, though, so you can take comfort in the price  — $16 for 4.2 oz. and the plant-based ingredients.

You can also take comfort in the fact that this is the last of the odd hotel-bathroom-in-Mexico photos. It won’t happen again. Mostly because I can’t afford to go to Mexico again.

What do you think?

