Lancôme Le Crayon Khôl

5 Sep

I’ll admit it. I wasn’t much of an eyeliner person until I bought Kavyn Aucoin’s book Making Faces, which instructs the reader to line the upper rim of the eye to make lashes look fuller, blacker, more dramatic. It’s a fantastically educational book. Check it out. The day I read this book, I began lining my rims with M.A.C. gel liner, and I haven’t looked back in the years since.

I’ll also admit that I’m not so great with time, which means that I’m often running late. When one is running late, a pencil liner is much more helpful than a pot of gel and a brush. However, most liner pencils aren’t very good. They’re either too hard, too smudgy or seriously lacking in color. Le Crayon Khôl has none of these flaws.

As gifts-with-purchases go, Lancôme’s are pretty darn good. That’s how I first tried Bi-Facil, and that’s how I scored this gem. The color is true black, (but these pencils come in brown, navy, green, white and gray). It goes on that way and stays that way. It also goes on with tremendous ease. It won’t pull the delicate skin surrounding your eyes, and you won’t end up with uneven coverage.

The thing about this pencil that really sells it for me, though, is its versatility. For a clean line, sharpen the pencil. For a smudgy line, well, just smudge the line with a sponge. This pencil can accomplish thin, thick, light, heavy, above the lashes, below the lashes, everything with ease. It’s the ultimate liner. The one flaw is that, on me, this liner doesn’t always stay put on my lower rim. I don’t line that area often, so I’m not too upset about it.

If you’re not lucky enough to get your hands on one of these mini pencils, buy the full-sized one, which is about twice the size of the one I have, and I’ve had it for quite some time. Translation: Spend the $24.50 on the pencil, and you’ll have it for a long, long time. Just remember to sharpen it every once in a while to shave off germs.

What do you think?

