John Frieda Luxurious Volume Anytime Volume Refresher

14 Sep

Although admitting that I use dry shampoo more than actual shampoo might cause you to call my personal hygiene habits into question, I’m happy do to so. Why? Dry shampoo is amazing. Everyone who doesn’t naturally have Pantene commercial hair should use it. It gives fine, flat hair body, it makes oily hair look less greasy and yes, it makes dirty hair look clean.

I have usually flat, often oily and sometimes dirty hair. John Frieda’s dry shampoo is the best I’ve ever used at making oily or dirty hair look freshly washed. It’s also nearly residueless. Most white dry shampoos make dark hair look dull or leave tiny speckles or flakes. This one doesn’t. At all. Just shake and go. It makes hair look as though its fresh from the shower.

This dry shampoo’s packaging focuses on the volumizing aspect, which is odd to me because this is the thing it’s the worst at. As many of you know, a happy side effect of dry shampoos is that they’re great volumizers. This product’s true focus is making hair look clean. It does a good job of preventing hair from sticking to my head, but I wouldn’t go so far as to say it volumizes well. “Adds body” would probably be more accurate.

The other downside to this product is the size of the can (3.5 oz for $7). If you use dry shampoo like I do, a can this size doesn’t last very long. That said, this is one of my favorite dry shampoos. That it makes hair look clean without leaving a variety of white grossness behind is impressive. That its strength isn’t adding volume doesn’t matter, except that it has “volume” in the name twice. Despite these small shortcomings, I’m going to keep this product stocked in my bathroom. Clean hair in seconds at this price? Amazing. And the fire-extinguisher like power it packs is pretty fun, too.

What do you think?

