Jergens Overnight Repair

19 Sep

In March, I visited Las Vegas with a group of friends. Stuffing all our suitcases into the one room was almost more difficult than finding places for all of us to sleep. Showering without knocking over the dozen or more bottles of shampoo, conditioner and body wash on the floor was nearly impossible. I, alone, brought two largish suitcases. After all the shopping we did, a pal of mine had trouble squeezing all her product back into her suitcase. After using Overnight Repair for the past four days, I gladly agreed to adopt it.

The text on the bottle promises to repair a week’s worth of damage overnight, and though claims like these often lead to disappointment, this one doesn’t. It’s incredibly thick, and I can feel it on my skin long after application. When I wake up the next morning, the formula has sunk in and left crazy smooth skin. (Hello, shea butter.) Sometimes I even use it on my legs, which are the driest part of my body, during the day.

When I moisturize at night, though, I mean business. I cover myself head to toe, which means that I can’t be using something that carries a powerful scent; that gets overwhelming quickly. This formula contains evening primrose, jasmine and black currant. I’m not sure in which proportions they contribute to the nice light scent, but each of these can help prevent and heal damaged skin or hair. No wonder this stuff leaves my skin feeling so silky.

As bothers me with a lot of drugstore lotions, this one contains mineral oil, which can clog pores. That said, this lotion works incredibly well, so I suppose I can’t be too upset about some of the things in it. A 16.8 oz. bottle (the one pictured is 21 oz.) sells for about $7, and it’ll last a long time. That is, unless you have to abandon it due to an overstuffed suitcase.

What do you think?

