Juicy Couture Original

21 Sep

It’s safe to say this was the first fragrance I fell in love with. As most love stories go (or the ones in the movies, anyway. That is my main frame of reference for these kind of things, after all), it wasn’t something I expected, and I don’t even know how it happened. As a brand, Juicy Couture is a little loud for me, but somehow I ended up married to its signature fragrance. I shouldn’t be surprised, though — I absolutely adore the Juicy products that don’t overwhelm me.

I wear fragrance at all times. Even if it’s a lazy Sunday and I have no plans to leave the house, I wear fragrance. Smelling good makes me feel good, so I love that this fragrance can take me from day to night. It’s not too sensual to wear during the day, and it’s not too airy to wear at night. It’s a lot more girlie than most scents I’m attracted to, but this remains my go-to fragrance.

The top notes of this scent are mostly fruits: watermelon, mandarin, passion fruit, marigold, green apple, water hyacinth and crushed leaves. The middle notes consist of flowers: wild rose, princess lily and tuberose. The bottom notes are where it gets really yummy, though: Créme brulée, vanilla, precious woods and pachouli play together to make this scent creamy and sweet in the most delightful way. This is why many readers find this fragrance gets even more delicious as it sits on the skin.

It’s difficult to review a fragrance because there are so many variables involved: Fragrances smell different based on how they react with the wearer’s skin, different people are attracted to different scents, and everyone expects different things from fragrances. That said, few fragrances are so widely adored. I’ve gotten more inquiries and compliments when wearing this fragrance than anything else.

The 3.4 oz. bottle retails for $89, and the 1.7 oz. (pictured, and no, it’s not really leaking. I just get to work with really creative people.) retails for $69. Yep, that’s expensive. I don’t think I’ve ever paid full price for fragrance, though. I almost always pick mine up at Nordstrom Rack. Even if you don’t think this is the kind of fragrance you’d like, give it a sniff. You might be as surprised as I was. It’s definitely the best of the Juicy fragrances.

What do you think?

