St. Ives Blemish Fighting Apricot Cleanser

24 Sep

For the life of me, I can’t figure out what apricot scrub I used before St. Ives’ package redesign. Whatever it was, I adored it. I was faithful. I’ve tried three St. Ives apricot cleaners since then, none of which have been the same. If anyone has an idea which one it might have been, please let me know. This is becoming distressing. Anyway, on to the review:

I don’t think this cleanser does as good a job at preventing blemishes as the mystery apricot scrub I used to use. This cleanser contains salicylic acid, which is helpful in fighting breakouts, but it doesn’t do much good in a face wash. Salicylic acid is an ingredient that needs time to work, which is why it’s most often seen in creams, which spend a much longer time on the skin than a face wash. Making sure that there’s nothing trapped in your pores can go a long way in avoiding pimples, so I’m of the opinion that the best way to fight acne with a face wash is with one that exfoliates.

That said, I have no idea why there are microbeads in this cleanser. The formula is barely thicker than whole milk, so adding a small concentration tiny beads to it doesn’t make a lot of sense to me. They sort of slide over the skin without really exfoliating. My other complaint is that this cleanser left me feeling a little filmy, which is something I can’t stand; it makes me feel as though I need to wash my face again right away.

Because this neither exfoliates nor contains enough blemish-fighting power, I can’t recommend this. If you really want to try a St. Ives product, I would suggest the Blemish and Blackhead Control Apricot Scrub, which you can pick up at your local drugstore for about $5, the same price as this cleanser.

2 Responses to “St. Ives Blemish Fighting Apricot Cleanser”

  1. drovenst September 25, 2011 at 11:01 am #

    Are you sure it wasn’t St. Ives? I’ve used it for a long time, and I think the formula has changed a lot.

    • productista September 25, 2011 at 12:36 pm #

      It was St. Ives. I can’t find another St. Ives like the one I used to use. I keep hoping it still exists because they have about six of them, but I think you’re right, and I liked the old formula better.

What do you think?

