Kerastase Masquintense for Thick Hair

27 Sep

OK, so I don’t have thick hair. No matter how hard I hope for it, it’s not in the cards for me. So why do I have conditioner for thick hair? I bought this stuff at a huge discount, and the fine hair version wasn’t available at said discount. I wasn’t about to pass up this conditioner, though.

Because I tend to use this only on my ends, I haven’t experienced any kind of weighing down as a result of using an “overpowered” conditioner. I’d probably buy this version again, actually. I have intensely dry ends, so they can handle all conditioner they can get. This one delivers. Oh, and it smells amazing.

Often, a deep conditioner involves killing a lot of time in the shower while the goop works its magic or drying off, going about your activities, then hopping back in to rinse. I’m a fan of neither option. Therefore, I have my own deep conditioning method. It’s not glamorous, but it works wonders:

1. Start with dry hair a few hours before you plan to shower. Pop the tub in the microwave for a few seconds until it’s warmed, but not hot. It’ll take less time than you think, so err on the side of too little time. You can always put the conditioner back in, but waiting for overheated product to cool takes longer than you think. Trust me.

2. Work conditioner through all the hair that would fit into a pony. Wrap that hair around itself into a tight knot and secure with a hair tie.

3. Trap the moisture with a shower cap wrapped around the bun. No shower cap? Use a sandwich bag and another hair tie. I’ve even used those miniature grocery bags. Blast the knot with a hairdryer for a few minutes to make sure it’s nice and steamy under the plastic.

4. Take a nap. When you wake up, shower, shampoo and condition. Say hello to your smooth, shiny locks.

You’ll use more conditioner with this method, but I think it’s worth it. If you want to try to combat this, you can spritz some water on your hair so the conditioner disperses more easily through your hair, which means less product is necessary to coat strands.

The jar I have is only 75 percent the size of the current jars, which retail for $60, but you can usually find a jar more than three times the size of mine (mine’s a little more than an inch deep) on Amazon for about $85, which works out to an extra 10 oz. for $15. This stuff stays stable for a really, really long time (clearly mine’s seen some wear), so if you can stomach the price, that’s the way to go. Either way, the cost of the mask is a lot less than you would pay for as many spa treatments as you can get deep conditioning sessions out of this jar, and it works just as well. Plus, the formula feels just as indulgent.

What do you think?

