Hempz Ultra-Moisturizing Herbal Lip Balm

18 Oct

In my last year of high school, I had a friend who would bring Hempz hand lotion to class. Although I was a bit perplexed by the marijuana leaf on the front of the bottle, it smelled so good that I scooted over to Ulta and bought myself a bottle. Fast forward a few years and I find this tube of lip balm in my Christmas stocking. Yum.

Let’s get the pot plant thing out of the way. Hemp seed oil, which is a main ingredient in Hempz products, comes from the Cannabis plant. Marijuana comes from Cannabis that is bred to contain high levels of THC. Hempz uses normal Cannabis, so there’s no THC here, just delightful, healing hemp seed oil. (Disclaimer: I know nothing about drugs. In fact, I just last week learned what “dropping acid” means. I simply love you guys enough to research weed for this post.)

 

Hemp seed oil can be helpful in treating eczema, which explains why this balm is so soothing to my lips. I love using this during the colder months because I feel as though it creates a barrier between my lips and the elements. (It also has SPF 15, which I appreciate because sun protection is still important in the winter even if you live in the frozen tundra.) This balm’s texture is pretty goopy, which I usually don’t like, but it does such a good job of smoothing the rough parts of my lips and protecting them from the cold that I’ve come to associate its texture with comfort. Plus, it doesn’t look too shiny on the lips.

The website describes this balm’s scent as “Herbal Citrus,” which I wouldn’t have come up with on my own, but I think is accurate. My only problem with this product is that the balm seems to disappear rather quickly due to its consistency, but it smells so nice that reapplying it is a welcome activity. (Obviously my tube has seen some major use.) The packaging has been updated since I bought my last tube, but the product is the same. Right now, you can pick one up at Ulta for $6.60 — just in time for the long cold months.

What do you think?

