Chantecaille Retinol Intense

29 Oct

For the past three weeks, I’ve been using Rentinol Intense, which is a bit of a misnomer because it’s actually a very gentle retinol cream. About three days in, I noticed that my skin looked brighter and healthier. It was noticeable to other people too, which doesn’t happen often with a skin product. In short, I’ve been quite impressed with this cream.

A quick crash course in retinol: Retinol is a form of vitamin A. It aids in the correction of fine lines and uneven skin texture and tone. Vitamin A is toxic to humans at lower levels than almost every other vitamin, which means that retinol can be irritating to the skin. However, over time, skin will build up a tolerance, so this retinol cream might not be enough for some, and could be a little too strong for others. For this reason, it’s wise to try before you buy when it comes to retinol creams, which is exactly what I’ve been doing with this mini tube.

My skin has very little previous exposure to retinol, and I used this cream morning and night without any irritation. I have moderately sensitive skin, so this is probably a good cream for those who don’t have severely sensitive skin to start. The amount of retinol this formula contains is enough to evoke positive changes in my skin without inflaming it.

Because of these things, I was really looking forward to purchasing a full bottle of this cream. Then I learned that a 1.7 oz. bottle retails for $108. I really, really dig this stuff, but $108 is a lot of money for a 22-year-old to spend on a face cream, especially if there’s a possibility that my skin could become slightly resistant to the level of retinol and its benefits. Until I win the lottery, I’ll enjoy the remainder of my sample tubes and search on for a tolerable, effective and less expensive retinol cream.

What do you think?

