Deborah Lippmann Cuticle Remover

21 Nov

It hasn’t been two weeks since the last one, and I’m already doing another Lippmann review. I can’t help it. I’m that obsessed. I’ve always been a Chicken Little when it comes to my cuticles. I never let anyone at the salon alter them in any way out of fear that I’d later die due to an infection. Deborah Lippmann and some added cuticle knowledge make it easy, though. I’m never concerned about accidentally removing skin I need to keep germs out of my body.

First, few people, my former self included, understand what the cuticle is. The cuticle is not what keeps bacteria out of your body. The cuticle is dead skin that should be removed. When people usually think of the cuticle, though, they think of the eponychium, which should be left alone. The way I understand it, the cuticle is leftover eponychium that is no longer protecting the body but is left on the nail. Who knew?

Being armed with that knowledge makes manicures less terrifying for the Chicken Littles. It also makes cuticle remover less daunting. Lippmann’s remover dissolves only the dead skin and leaves the eponychium intact. All you have to do, then, is let the formula sit for a few seconds before rubbing away the dead skin with either your fingers or an orange stick. It’s super easy, painless and safe.

A bottle the same size as standard DL polishes retails for $20, and it should last a super long time — I’ve been using my mini bottle for about six months, usually every other week or so. Had I not gotten this as part of a Lippmann kit, I never would have learned that the dead skin that obstructs a clean coat of polish really can go, and I never would have known that one short, easy step can make an at-home mani look like a pro one. Now that you know, too, you can start creating those sparkly holiday manis in the comfort of your living room.

What do you think?

