Dolce & Gabbana Rose The One

1 Dec

Today marks the six-month point of this blog. Yay! To celebrate, I’m giving away the product I’m reviewing today. (It even comes in a super cute gold box.) All you have to do is post about this review via Twitter or Facebook and make sure to @ me so I can find your post. At midnight tomorrow, I’ll pick a winner at random. Keep your fingers crossed! (Edit: I’ve been told that this bottle looks tiny. It’s an average-size rollerball. It probably retailed for about $20, so it’s not huge, but it’ll last at least a few months.)

I wear frargance at all times. I have some friends and family members, however, who develop fragrance headaches quite easily. Rose The One is the perfect solution. It’s light enough that I can wear it without fear of giving a pal a migraine, but it’s not so light that I can’t tell I’m wearing it.

Another thing that I adore about this fragrance is that, to me, it smells like lilacs. I’ve written before about how appealing I find rose-scented products, but lilacs are what really get me. There’s no lilac in the mix, though. Just a medley of other flowers (Lily of the Valley, Bulgarian Rose, Peony, Geranium Madonna Lily and Ambrette seed), fruits (pink grapefruit, mandarin, peach and plum) and the trifecta of deliciousness (vanilla, amber and musk). On paper, it seems much too girly for me, but it’s an absolute delight to wear. It seems nearly universally pleasing. Keep in mind that it’s light, though. If you like strong fragrances, this one isn’t for you.

As far as I can tell, Dolce & Gabbana doesn’t make the rollerball version anymore, which is a bummer because it’s amazing for travel. I’ve kept the one I’m giving away in a cool, dark area and it hasn’t ever been opened, so it’s in prime condition. If you win it, let me know if you think it smells like lilacs or if I’m just a little crazy. If you’re not the lucky winner and you still want to try this, you can pick up a 1 oz. bottle for $62 or the 1.7 oz. for $75.

What do you think?

