Living Proof Full Shampoo/Living Proof Full Conditioner

21 Dec

I try not to lump reviews together, but I didn’t want to write two reviews that were nearly identical, so this is of both the Full Shampoo and Full Conditioner. Plus, my mom’s been wanting to swipe these from me for quite some time, so I figured I’d get them reviewed so I could pass them on to her.

I’m a pretty big fan of Living Proof. The brand makes some amazing products, all of which are paraben and sulfate-free. I strongly prefer sulfate-free shampoos. Sulfates, namely sodium laureth sulfate and ammonium laureth sulphate, are what makes shampoo suds up. It’s the cleaning agent. It’s also the cleaning agent in numerous household cleaners. I think the argument that because an ingredient appears in something you wouldn’t want on your body means it’s one you shouldn’t use is a silly one, but stick with me: Household cleaners are intensely drying, and many use the same cleaning agent as most shampoos. Although shampoo contains far less SLS/ALS, it’s still the cleaning agent, and it still dries out the scalp. Your body then produces more oil to hydrate your scalp, and surprise! Greasy hair. There are a few other reasons people don’t like sulfates, but this and the color fading argument are the only ones I know to be absolutely true. If you struggle with greasy hair, consider switching to a sulfate-free shampoo. It will take your body a few weeks to adjust, but in most cases it will help.

Full shampoo gets the scalp clean without stripping it, and the conditioner hydrates without weighing hair down, which is the most a conditioner can do for fine hair. This shampoo and conditioner are excellent for people with fine hair as long as you go into the purchase knowing that something you rinse out of your hair won’t bulk up the stand and add volume in the traditional sense; it just won’t over dry or over-hydrate, both of which can weigh down hair.

I bought this pair together, which isn’t something I usually do. Apparently spending $24 in two separate purchases isn’t a problem, but spending $48 on shampoo and conditioner at one time is too much for my conscience to handle. I still feel guilty despite the fact that I have a similarly sized bottle of shampoo that I purchased for about $30 and feel no remorse about sitting next to this pair in my shower. I know it makes no sense, but I can’t get over it. I highly recommend this shampoo and conditioner if you’re used to spending this much on shampoos and conditioners. If not, don’t. Plenty of drugstore brands make sulfate-free versions of their products. If you’re looking to buy one of this pair, pick the shampoo.

4 Responses to “Living Proof Full Shampoo/Living Proof Full Conditioner”

  1. k Elizabeth December 21, 2011 at 4:37 pm #

    I was just wondering about this brand, yesterday…. Good review.

    • productista December 21, 2011 at 4:51 pm #

      Thanks! They make an amazing hair mask too. Good stuff.

      • k Elizabeth December 21, 2011 at 4:53 pm #

        O, so good 2 know! I’ve had “find good hair mask” on my list for like 3 weeks now! Thank you!!! 🙂

      • productista December 21, 2011 at 5:04 pm #

        For sure! I heat mine up a bit, then leave it on under a shower cap for at least an hour. Works like a charm!

What do you think?

