Deborah Lippmann On a Clear Day

10 Jan

I’ve been doing a lot of DL reviews lately because I’m trying to get through nail product before I move (again) so that I don’t have to pack up a bunch of tiny bottles (again) in order to review them. You guys will all be DL experts now, though, and that’s not a bad thing to be.

Before I started this blog, I used Addicted to Speed, DL’s quick-dry top coat. I’m a much bigger fan of that than I am On a Clear Day, and here’s why: I’m a night person. I clean at night, I write at night, I give myself manicures at night. If I had it my way, I’d sleep until noon and stay up until 4 a.m. working. 90 precent of my polish changes come after 10 p.m., and because I don’t usually get to sleep until noon, I have to then go to sleep a few hours after a polish change. This shouldn’t be a problem, but with this top coat, it is. I would rather skip a top coat than use this one after 7 p.m. It literally takes about four hours to full dry. I can’t wrap my brain around it. For a line that’s so dedicated to creating great products, this is one is a huge disappointment. I took my mini bottle on vacation with me last week, and I left it there. I was so glad to be free of it and sheet-marked nails.

I might be willing to reschedule my polish changes if this top coat were impermeable or crazy shiny, but it’s neither. It’s an average top coat that dries incredibly slowly, which is something I have no use for, especially when a full bottle costs $18. DL, I hold you in the highest esteem. This polish just doesn’t cut it, though.

What do you think?

