Jo Malone Vitamin E Body Treatment Scrub

25 Jan

Usually, I watch Revenge on Wednesday nights and get so excited about it that I forget to write a post. This is no such Wednesday. Instead, I watched a movie that turned out to be nothing like I though it would be, and not in a good way. I’m comforted only by the fact that I get to write about a body scrub. Body scrubs are like marshmallows on hot chocolate: They’re not necessary, but they take a shower from ordinary to awesome.

The ingredients of this scrub aren’t listed on the jar, so I had no idea what was in it until I started research for this review. Fifteen of the first 16 ingredients are moisturizers, natural exfoliators or humectants, (ingredients that hydrate and help other ingredients penetrate skin). Of the next 10, two are antioxidants, and one is salt. This is where you want the less desirable ingredients — in the bottom third of the ingredient list. Amusingly, the two ingredients (vitamin E and salt) Jo Malone’s site touts as the principal components of this scrub are in the last 10. Regardless, this scrub is amazing, and it contains tons of amazing ingredients. The exfoliators break down as you scrub so that I’m left with a non-gross oily hydrating residue that seals in moisture and leaves skin intensely soft. Plus, it has a yummy honey-vanilla scent that I can’t get enough of. If my skin is really dry, tiny bumps sprout up. This scrub removes all of them in one use. Because it’s so gentle, I even use this as a lip exfoliator to prep for color sometimes. (Side note: Cat loves to type on laptops. She leapt up here and deleted my entire post just now. Thank goodness for control+z.)

The only downside of this scrub is that it’s expensive — $85 per jar. It’s a huge jar (21 oz), though. Because I only need a tiny scoop each time I use this, I transfer scrub into a medium-sized jar and keep the big jar in the fridge so that it stays bacteria-free long enough for me to use the entire thing. My favorite thing about this scrub is that it’s composed of eight oils and five natural exfoliants rather than junky fillers. (Ingredients that non-chemists can understand are listed below.) I’ve used other body scrubs that I’ve liked and have gotten the job done, but this one is the most gentle I’ve used, and it’s by far the most luxurious. Sometimes a little luxury in daily life is exactly what we need.

Soybean oil, table sugar, silica (think sand), fragrance, hydrogenated vegetable oil, a glycerin mixture, organic brown sugar, glycerin, olive fruit oil, avocado oil, sunflower seed oil, jojoba seed oil, another glycerin mixture, wheat germ oil, hydrogenated jojoba seed oil (exfoliating beads), vegetable oil, shea butter, a questionable cleaning agent, Vitamin E, an antioxidant ingredient, table salt, a scent ingredient restricted in the EU, another scent ingredient and four dyes.

 

What do you think?

