Clé de Peau Beauté Facial Cotton Pads

27 Jan

A few months ago, a pal jokingly sent me the link to $20 Chanel cotton pads and told me I should review them. I replied that I’d be reviewing the just-as-expensive Clé de Peau cotton pads soon. I’m not sure she was impressed by my choices.

Before you judge me for spending so much money on cotton pads, understand that these are cloud soft. When I first saw way-more-expensive-than-average cotton squares, I got a giggle out of them and wondered who would drop a Jackson on something you can get at the drugstore for a few bucks. I’m not laughing anymore, though. These are amazing. I still buy the drugstore cotton pads for removing polish, but for all face-related manners, I’m sticking with the luxe ones.

The single thing that makes these cotton pads worth the $20 is the how soft they are. That’s it. You wouldn’t think that would be enough to get consumers to spend money on these, but it is. They’re so popular that Saks’ website places a limit on how many boxes one customer can purchase in a 30-day period in order to keep up with the demand.

I can’t say whether these are any softer than any of the other premium cotton pads, but these are really, really soft. I plan to try a few others — and I can’t believe I’m saying this — but I’m not going back to the rough ones from the grocery store. There are 120 pads in a box, and I often cut them in half. At worst they’re 17 cents per pad and at best, about 8 cents. Adding a little luxury to my life each day is worth that.

What do you think?

