Maybelline Baby Lips

19 Feb

Maybelline is impressively good at getting me excited about new product launches, and for good reason: Whenever someone asks me for a drugstore makeup suggestion, I send them to the Maybelline aisle. The products are exciting, affordable and of good quality. It’s hard to go wrong with Maybelline. When Baby Lips first launched, I checked every Target, CVS and Walgreens I went by to find these balms. It was well worth the searching.

Quenched (pictured) is clear and smells like lemon and basil, which was reason enough for me to buy it. Seriously, how delicious is that? There’s a strong possibility that I’m addicted to this lip balm. It’s my new companion: When I go into the kitchen, it comes with me; when I go to bed at night, it’s on my nightstand. I wear it alone for a healthy shine or layer it under sticky glosses to make them instantly wearable and keep my lips hydrated. It’s perfect.

Maybelline’s site boasts eight-hour hydration and is clinically proven to make lips 82% visibly less dry, 94% less rough, 77% more supple and 77% better looking in four weeks. Uh, good luck keeping a tube around for four weeks. This balm actually does hydrate lips, and you won’t be able to get enough of the silky formula. I’m not sure that I get eight hours of hydration from one application, but I’m also not sure that I’ve ever gone eight hours without using this balm since I started using it. I have noticed, however, a difference in the condition of my lips. My usual wintery, cracked, dry lips are generally soft now.

I also own this balm in Cherry Me, which packs the same hydration and tints lips a pretty, pink color. Remember the cherry-flavored balms you loved as a kid? Cherry Me smells like that. It’s such a simple, wonderful pleasure. Baby Lips also comes in Peppermint (also clear), Grape Vine (deep purple), Pink Punch (bright, glorious pink ) and Peach Kiss (shimmery peach). A pal of mine has Peppermint, and I don’t think it touches Quenched. I mean, how do you beat lemon and basil?

Quenched or Peppermint can even be used over eye color to provide a gorgeous, medium-shine finish, but I’d suggest stashing a separate balm in your makeup bag for that, and you can: These are only $3-$4 per tube. As soon as Quenched or Cherry Me runs out, I’m heading to Duane Reade to pick up Peach Kiss. I’m that in love with these balms.

2 Responses to “Maybelline Baby Lips”

  1. k Elizabeth February 20, 2012 at 9:00 am #

    Great review! I’m gonna find these & get the Basil & Lemon! 🙂

What do you think?

