Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion

27 Feb

I live in a world where primers are appreciated and adored. I can’t fathom foundation or eyeshadow without primers. I don’t like looking in the mirror at the end of the day and realizing that my shadow’s creased and my base has long since dissolved and disappeared. Primers save me that horror.

I prefer easily blendable shadows because I like to pretend that I’m a makeup artist and that I know what I’m doing. Blendable shadows tend to be softer and more prone to migration. An eye primer is a must for me. Urban Decay’s primer sticks shadows down so well that it almost makes them hard to blend, and if you accidentally get some stray mascara on your lid, good luck removing it.

This is the primer you wear out dancing with your girlfriends. For day-to-day type things, I prefer Stay Don’t Stray. However, the “vintage” tube (like mine) I have is half-price on UD’s website. My understanding is that they moved to the new wand-free packaging to reduce the number of germs that could enter the tube. My solution is to remove the wand and swipe the contents on the back of my hand, then transfer to my lid.

This primer comes in from colors: Original (nude, pictured), Eden (nude matte), Greed (shimmering gold) and Sin (champagne shimmer). I’ve only tried nude, but I’d be interested in trying Greed and Sin because they’d probably make good built-in highlighters. The half-price vintage tubes are $9, and tubes with the new packaging are $20. Get on the adorable vintage ones while they last!

What do you think?

