Caffeine, skyscrapers and working hard.

15 Mar

If you’ve been reading this blog for pretty much any length of time, you’re aware that I am not a morning person in the slightest. The first three nights of my new job I came home, showered, ate and went straight to bed. Being awake before 8 is an incredibly difficult thing for me to cope with. When I learned that I would be starting at Lancôme, I promptly bought myself a Keurig machine. (I’m currently drinking Gloria Jean’s Buttered Toffee. Noms.) This thing takes me from zombie to human in no time flat. I adore it.

For those of you who can’t stomach the wide-eyed view of NYC, skip this paragraph. Seriously. I’m about to get all kinds of cliché. Opening up the doors of my apartment and seeing the city pulsating with life fills me with inspiration in a way that I never could have imagined. Before I moved here, I spent a decent amount of time visiting, but living here is different. Every day is a blessing, and I’m not sure I’ll ever reach a point in my life when I stop looking up to marvel at the beauty of this great city.

Even better at getting me going than walking through the city and guzzling delicious warm beverages? My new job. If I would have charted out on paper everything that I wanted this experience to be in the first week, I could’t have touched what it actually has been. I’ve even helped brainstorm names for lipstick shades. I almost died. And because I’ve always made honesty a priority on this blog, I’ll let you know that the first two days I was so scared that I would do something wrong that I could hardly breathe. I work for amazing people, though. They’ve even checked out my blog. It’s only been four days, but I’m already in love. I go home at night and can’t wait to go back. Who could resist a place full of fab people and product, though?

Bear with me while I try to figure out what to do about art for these posts. I planned about 28370 product photos but I didn’t plan anything for this specific scenario. I’ll work on it. I’ll also work on coming up with a theme that consists of something more than me writing about being absolutely delighted by the things I encounter. I imagine that’ll get old quickly. Until then!

What do you think?

